top of page

Seealpsee Winter 2017

The first time I came across the Seealpsee was when I went thru my Instagram feed, posted by @thekafka whom I met at Lake Obersee in Berchtesgaden.

I was stunned by how this lake was sitting up in the mountains, by itself, right at a drop off and with all those peaks behind it. Unfortunately at that time I wasn't able to visit this place due to lack of time so I kinda forgot about it.

A couple weeks later I went to a local photography exhibition and there I saw it again. A large photo print on metal behind acrylic glass, size 10ft by 5ft. Incredible to look at in that scale definitely made me want to go.

When I came home I looked up how to get there. After a little research I realized it's not even going to be as hard. A gondola takes you up the mountain and from there its about a 30min stroll tho the location. Photography is not always what it pretends to be ;) My decision to go in the winter time was first, because I had time to go and secondly, because I barely found any pictures taken in the winter from up there, but the alps are for sure a winter wonderland!

Everything look already so neat when I arrived. Barns covered in snow, frozen rivers, golden sun. Just incredible. I made my way to the gondola thru the village and went right up. The Nebelhorn, where the lake is located, is also a ski area so it was packed! The views from tho gondola where great going over ski ramps for worldcups and close to huge mountain cliffs. Up there I looked around and took a deep breath of the fresh mountain air. The “hike” to the viewpoint over the lake was really not hard. I doubt it even takes half and hour. But for the little effort you put in you get rewarded big times. The view is just as amazing as it seemed on the photographs. Mountains are just so impressive, they are almost intimidating standing up there behind the lake. Seealpsee is visible from two locations both of them are a “pass”. The further back pass also gives a great view into the valley on the other side of the mountain. Due to short winter days and the last gondola I had to leave pretty soon but I managed to put together a time-lapse and some photos of what I've seen. Check it out and let me know down below how you think!

Comentarios


bottom of page