top of page

Iceland Day 10 - Our Last Day & THE ICELAND FILM

No, our last day we didn't use to get some sleep. What did you think? :P

We had to catch up on some places we missed the first day because of our canceled flight.

In order to be in time for the sunrise at Kirkjufjell, we had to leave at 5 am. The drive was really nice, a scenic route through the fjords north of Reykjavik. Closer to our destination we drove over a pass. Looking down on the water, the fjords, the tiny houses in the blue hour was magnificent. It made me really excited for what was to come.

Arriving at the parking lot at Kirkjufjellsfoss I was pretty surprised. We were already able to see a big group of people and there was a huge coach standing in the car park. Of course, when we arrived on top of the Waterfall it was packed. Most of the people were crossing the barriers which made me pretty upset. Pretty much the whole bus was busy behind the ropes that were marking the walking path.

I found a spot in between all these people but on the right side of the ropes and took some amazing pictures. Proof of my point that no one needs to cross the markings just to take a "better" picture. Anyhow the view was out of this world. It's no wonder why people want to take photos there.

We left soon because I literally felt like I was on Times Square - the only difference being people there know how to behave themselves. Down in the fjord itself, we went on to shoot some reflections of Kirkjufjell Mountain. This was a lot of fun and way less busy than up at the Waterfall.

In Grundarfjördur we grabbed some breakfast before heading to Budakirkja and Ytri Tunga. Budakirkja is a black painted church kind of in the middle of nowhere ( what is not in Iceland, haha), whilst Ytri Tunga is a beach somewhat further down the road where sometimes you can see different types of animals.

The blue sky and the mountains in the background made a scenery for the Church. It's just standing there with a little graveyard around it. Maybe even a little bit creepy if you'd go at nightfall.

Before going down to the beach I actually had to take a nap in the car. After like 3.800km I was pretty through with sitting and concentrating on driving. Iceland is really beautiful but can be quite exhausting on a tight schedule. The Beach, on the other hand, was anything but stressful. It was just laying there with really shallow water, blue sky above us, It almost felt like a vacation, haha. It wanst even that windy. On top of that, there were seals! They were enjoying the sunshine just like we were. Laying on the rocks holding their bellies in the sun. The one moment I decide to take a photo of the two seals, one actually decides to stretch! Such a cool moment.

Late lunch was planned in Stykkishólmur. The town is the northernmost point of the Snaefellsnes peninsula. There was no restaurant planned where we wanted to go. We just went by luck. And it was the best idea ever! In a restaurant called Narfeyrarstofa, we ordered Salmon with Risotto. It was anything but cheap but it was seriously so delicious. Probably the best fish I ever ate.

Now we were energized to start our drive back to Reykjavik. Maybe to energized. Half the way back I got pulled over by the cops. 124 in a 90. I must say the Police Officer was just as nice as all the other locals we met in Iceland. She asked me to follow her into the Police car. On the way there her colleague was trying to turn off the emergency light and actually turned on the sirens haha. We had a really nice conversation after I made the payment (the amount still makes me delusional). They even told me I have to be careful on the way to Reykjavik because of stationary speed traps.

Our night we spend grabbing food and drinking a beer in a bar with live music. I'd consider this a great round-up to an amazing trip with lots of bad weather, but loads of great times.

Right here, right now I want to thank everyone who made this trip amazing. Especially Marco who was enduring me in all the time. All the locals in Iceland, from Airbnb's, restaurants and random encounters.

See you again!

Comentarios


bottom of page