top of page

Are you a Photographer - or just someone with a Camera?

As many of you know I work in an electronic store selling cameras and equipment. I don't know everything about cameras or have shot every camera that ever existed, but I think I know enough to help most people pick something they are going to get what they want and be happy with for a long time. I shoot a lot in my free time which helps to introduce people to using a camera. With some photos, I actually earned some money (doesn't happen too often though). Yet if people ask me what I do for a living or who I am I usually say I'm just a dude with a camera. The other day I had a customer at work which made me really angry. Not just for the way she was treating me, but also in the way she was talking about photography. Asking me for CF-Memory Cards I had to tell her that we, unfortunately, had none in stock. For your information, this was before holiday time and for some reason, I had a lot of customers asking for them. About a week before I ordered new memory cards but only got SD-Cards and no CF's. I guess they had plenty orders. Anyhow she got really angry towards me, pushing her 256MB-CF Card (yes, MB as in MegaBytes, not GB) in my face, asking me what she's supposed to do now and she needs it now because she is a photographer and she needs to shoot. Repeating herself over and over again, telling me what horrible of a shop we are, probably realizing how she f'd up. Don't get me wrong I understand it's my responsibility to have everything in stock, yet we barely sell CF Cards anymore (maybe 4 a month). What bothered me the most tho was the fact that she blamed us for her being horribly prepared for her job. SHE apparently is offering service to other people. SHE is using damn old gear and has no spare at hand (I don't know anyone who still uses 256MB Cards and on top of that only has ONE Card. I don't consider myself a photographer and own like 8 Memory Cards) SHE didn't prepare herself right, trying out her gear, making sure everything works how it's supposed to. Yet SHE puts herself out there calling herself a PHOTOGRAPHER placing herself on the same level of all the Pros, all the best of the league working this job year after year always prepared for the worst-case scenario. Armed to the teeth with gear. I'm sorry dear lady but you just insulted a whole industry.

Rant over! Here are some drone shots. Have a great Sunday :)

Comments


bottom of page